top of page


Ashtang Yog has eight (8) Limbs, explained as below

Yam (Restraints or Don'ts)

  • Satya (Truth)
  • Aparigrah (non-collecting)
  • Astey (Non stealing)
  • Ahimsaa (Non Violence)
  • Brahmchary (Celibacy or chastity)
Niyam (Rules or Dos)
  • Tap (persistence with focus or Perseverance)
  • Shauch (Cleansing of Mind & Body)
  • Santosh (Self-Optism or Contentment)
  • Swa-adhyaay (Self-study of Vedic scriptures)
  • Ishwar Pranidhaan (Realization of Brahman)
Aasan (Stability in a particular bodily position)
  • Aasan is a bodily position or posture of a human body. Aasan is done in order to acquire relaxed and comfortable seating position for next step of Ashtang Yog, Pranayam.
Pranayam (Breathing or regulation of life-force)
  • Pranayam means Pran (breathing life-force that is Oxygen) + Ayam (the regulation, the way we all should ideally breathe)

Pratyahar (Rest to all senses)

  • Pratyahar = Prati (To or towards) + Aahaar (Here Aahaar means focusing internally), that says to take away the attention of all senses from the external world. 
Dhyaan (Meditation)
  • Dhyaan is nothing but the absolute meditation based on one's Dhaarnaa (The Source).
Dhaarnaa (Concentrate)
  • Dhaarnaa simply means to focus or concentrate on to the Source that dwells within.
Samaadhi (Unification with the Source)
  • Samaadhi is a state or stance where one (Aatman) is merged and/or in sync with the Par Brahm, the ultimate source.
bottom of page